Store-bought vs Homemade

Have you ever wanted spaghetti with meat sauce ? I’m sure all of us have at one point or another. Are you also one of those people who buy premade sauce cause its “easier”? Well, I am here to tell you to stop! Lets think of what all goes in pasta sauce. Tomato Sauce, tomato paste, garlic, onion, meat (if desired) and seasonings. How hard is that? Not very. And if you make a big batch, you have some you can freeze for the next time you desire it. All for the price of about 59 cents a can at my local grocery store, which would mean $2.59 for all of the canned goods you would need for the sauce. Not including if you wanted to put any Mushrooms, onions, meat in it ect. Here is a list of what I put in my sauce:

Tomato Sauce

Tomato Paste

Garlic

Onion

Ground beef

Italian Sausage

Basil

Rosemerry

Thyme

Black Olives

Dried Parsley

Red Pepper Flakes

Olive oil (for sautéing)

You can add more, or less depending on what you like. My family doesn’t like mushrooms, so I don’t even bother adding them. Sometimes, if I just want my house to smell good, I will cook it anyway if I have the ingredients, but normally, we will have a spaghetti dinner the day I make the sauce. With garlic bread and a side salad.

IMG_3133

The point I am trying to get here though, is why by canned sauce for $3-5 a jar, when you can make your own for about that price and get more than 2 uses out of it. It is like that with broth too. You can buy boxed broth or bullion, or you can make your own! I freeze my scraps of veggies such as tops of carrots, onion and garlic peels and ends, and whatnot, and when my husband roasts his famous chicken, I’ll take the carcass, and the frozen scraps and make my own broth for the winter. I have over 6 cups of broth saved now for chicken soup. Yeah, it may take a little bit more work, but think about what you get in the end. A nice homemade broth for cooking with or creating soups with. Knowing what goes in your food and meals is much healthier. By making your own broth, and sauces, you are knowing what goes in it, and limiting your need for pre-made crap. It may be delicious, but think about all the artificial this and that which is in it. Gross!

This is how our ancestors lived, they made what they needed and only bought the basics such as flour, coffee, salt, ect.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

