All Ants Must Die!

Where I live, it gets hot. And not just 90 degree hot. I mean HOT! Like 116 is about NORMAL for us in the summertime, like fry an egg on the sidewalk hot. So of course, (and honestly, I can’t say that I blame them) they come inside where its cool, looking for food and water. Being the first summer in my new home, I wasn’t sure how “bug proofed” my house was. Well, I found out. I woke up one morning, went to make my husband coffee. The previous night I had put a soda can in the sink. I don’t know why. My guess is I dosed off in the recliner and woke up, went to bed but took my can in the sink first. Anyways. When I woke up, I went to fill the pot up with water and the yellow squirt can was literally BLACK! From all the ants! “GROSS!” I thought as I ran the water and watched them all die and fall down the drain.

Hoping it was just because I forgot to rinse the can out, I was a little more careful with things. But then, I would start seeing them in the drain on a daily basis! And then the counter. Needless to say it progressively got worse as time went on. I attempted an old wives-tale I heard, about spraying the counter with Windex to kill them and eventually they wont come back. Yeah. Didn’t work. At all. So when my mother and I went shopping at Lowe’s (which, us- at Lowes together, not a good idea, we could easily spend waaay to much money but that’s a different story)

img_2983.jpg
This was the first stuff we got. Don’t waste your money (IT SUCKS)

So I got this Raid Bait home, and my husband laid it all throughout the house. Places where we were annoyed with the ants the most. We waited, and waited, and waited, and our ant problem JUST got worse. I’ve got no clue what this Raid crap is supposed to do, but don’t waste your money guys. Just…don’t. So I put “ant traps” back on my list next time I went to the store. Sometime between then and my next trip to the store, I spoke to my father in law about our little ant problem. He recommended a trap for them where the ants will eat the trap, go back to their nest, give it to the queen, and there is an ingredient in the trap that they eat that kills them. No more queen = no more ants. So, its been one “full” day of using these traps, and while we still have them, there getting less and less. And I am fighting the urge to murder them all with Windex and a paper towel. But its working, so it is what it is.

Ant Bait
Now this stuff is what you need! Works like a charm!

So readers. In a nutshell, Terro Liquid ant bait is the way to go. It may take a while to be 100% ant free, you will also be killing the WHOLE nest. Therefore hopefully not having a pesky ant problem for a good 6-12 months. So I say try it! And resist the urge to spray and kill them all. As hard as it is, let them take the bait to their nest. It will be worth it in the long run.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

